Okay, so a bit about me.

I’m 28 years old. I work as a dentist and I live in a town called Port Lincoln in South Australia.

I do not have kids. I do not have young brothers or sisters or cousins. It’s been 23 years since I was 5. I have nothing to do with kids, besides seeing the occasional one in the dental clinic; and usually they’re screaming. God knows how I ended up writing a children’s book.

I like to play piano and sometimes guitar for fun. I once bought a set of electronic drums, convinced I would be excellent at it, but I never got around to learning. I play tennis and Australian football. I like to watch shows like Breaking Bad and Game of Thrones. I like to amuse my friends by doing bad magic tricks. I like to organise events through local social groups, such as Mario Kart 64 tournaments on projector screens with trophies and prizemoney. Sometimes I try to learn and speak Spanish. But I’m terrible at it.

I like to travel and visit friends who live overseas and go on adventures. I go to the gym in the mornings but my overwhelming urge to sleep in sometimes gets in the way of that. I like to drink coffee and eat great food. I spend way too much time getting distracted by Facebook and Reddit. I don’t feel right if I don’t have a side-project on the go, such as making a picture book. Last year I attempted to start a yoghurt business, named Yozurt. I even bought a cold bain-marie. It might still take off.

I have never had any formal training in writing. I didn’t even do the ‘creative’ English at school. But I’ve always considered myself pretty good at writing, and had a great time while I was at uni putting together the college gossip magazine, The Herbert, and the end-of-year Dental Students magazine, Probe.

I like to read but it takes me an incredibly long time to finish novels. I think this is why children’s books appeal to me.

So, now you know just about everything about Dr. Jarrad B. Elson! Anything else, you can probably stalk my Facebook profile.

jarrad pic for about jarrad3And here’s a picture of me

Comments

comments